Hello World!

I’m going to stick with the default title, because that really does seem appropriate.

A few days ago I decided to do something spontaneous. Totally out of character. I decided that for my 29th birthday I would sign up for a 5k. My birthday was Sunday. I had signed up the previous Wednesday. For me, that’s pretty spontaneous.

And then, I did it again.  Something spontaneous. Yet somehow the sky has not fallen. While participating in the Trick or Trot 5k, I decided I wanted to start a blog. Lately, due to an increase in free time, I’ve been rediscovering my love of creativity and how happy it makes me. I had been posting photos of nail art and beautiful things I see outside to Facebook, and thought it might be a good idea to bring them all to one place. I also noticed how I suddenly had enough room in my head while I was tromping and puffing along to come up with these ideas. So I decided that should be part of it too. I should get better at this running thing and maybe then my overly bulky bum will follow.

Though I started out the run feeling like a Clydesdale at a quarter horse race, some little spark of anticipation and excitement started to bloom inside my chest as a crossed the finish line. I certainly was in no shape to break any records, but I finished, and I wasn’t last. At the time, that’s all that mattered to me.

I want more. I want to do a race a month. I want to lose weight. I want to paint. I want to play with glitter. I want to re-learn how to sketch. I want to climb stairs without getting out of breath. I want to meditate for more than 3 minutes.  I want to enjoy music again. I want to learn how to scrap book. Then I want to do the 2012 Tough Mudder for my 30th Birthday while wearing a costume.

Say what?!? Yeah, that’s the big one. That’s what I want to do for my next birthday. As of TODAY, I have 365 days to prepare for my big 3-0 goal.

Tough Mudder is a half marathon race through mud and obstacles which may or may not include walls, cargo nets, electric nodes, carrying logs, fire hoses, and giant beach balls, etc. It’s not a race. It’s supposed to be a personal challenge – the goal is to complete the course.

http://toughmudder.com/events/new-jersey-2012/

Ready.

Set.

Go!

One response to “Hello World!

  1. You are awesomeness itself. Good luck on this journey of self-discovery, I hope I get to go on some of the adventures with you!

Leave a comment