Quotable Inspiration

56. Make the switch

The difference between a jogger and a runner is a race-entry blank.” –Dr. George Sheehan

101 Greatest Running Tips on Women’s Health

I couldn’t agree more. That is what really got me going. Sure, I could jog on the treadmill at the gym for 20 minutes and go on to some other machine, but signing up for a race gives me a goal. There is something to shoot for. Now I have some pride in the game.

I probably won’t do so great at the Turkey Trot this weekend, but it will probably still be better than my first race. And next month, when I find a race, I will probably improve a little more if I stick to my training.

I’m also finding thinking about races helps me focus on the number of miles and not the numbers on the scale. I don’t stress as much about food as I used to when trying to lose weight. So I had a grande salted caramel macchiato. BFD. I enjoyed every sip. I’m still losing a little weight each week. I’m getting there. I’m happy. I’m becoming a runner.

Leave a Reply

